Discussion Post: Week 3

Well, all of us have viewed the first few speakers in Presentation I. What have you seen so far that you liked in those presentations? Can you implement any of those strategies in your own presentations? By the same token, did you see anything that you think you should avoid — cautionary tales, if you will? As for those of you who have already delivered Presentation I, how did you feel about it? Did it go the way you thought it would?

Please, don’t take me out to the ballgame! Last week, Chicago health inspectors uncovered some truly revolting food safety violations at Wrigley Field. Inspectors found 20 critical violations across nine of the 35 food stands checked; three of those booths were subsequently shut down. Perhaps more disturbing is that 20 of the 35 stands had terrible enough violations to earn “F” grades from the inspectors. Among the most notable violations were sausages kept below 140 °F — the “magic number” at which many common bacteria are killed — and an ice machine containing black slime.

Wrigley Field was just the first Chicago stadium hit with a surprise game-day inspection; the others will eventually follow. (In the past, inspections only occurred on off-days, when there weren’t any fans present and buying food.) Still, it’s no wonder the classic baseball snacks are peanuts and Cracker Jacks… they come in sealed packages!

In news beyond this world, scientists are speculating that the iconic American flag planted on the moon by the Apollo 11 astronauts may have been destroyed by harsh conditions on the moon. The footprints of Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin likely still stand (although erosion will wear away those over a few million years, as well), but the nylon flags may have already been eradicated by the temperature cycles and ultraviolet rays over the past four decades. Other space relics will continue to haunt us, though: a dead and out-of-control NASA satellite is expected to plummet to Earth over the next few weeks, but no one is sure exactly when or where it will occur. The satellite, which weighs almost 12,500 pounds and is roughly the size of a school bus, should fall sometime in late September according to current estimates. Coincidentally, that’s right before Russia hopes to complete its investigations of last month’s Soyuz rocket crash and resume manned flights to the International Space Station. Transport missions could continue as soon as early- to mid-October if Russian officials conclude that the crash was an isolated incident.

In light of this somber occasion, the tenth anniversary of the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001, I’m going to forego any political discussion this week, myself. It’s certainly worth noting the events of ten years ago, though, and what people are doing to remember it today. Everyone affected by the disaster seems to have a different way of dealing with it. Many of those infants who lost their parents now only wish they could have met them, while other New Yorkers just want to move on with their lives, not let a tragedy define them. A new art show dedicated to the attacks portrays everything but a depiction of the day in question. Over the past decade, over a million Americans have visited the much-reputed chain link fence near Flight 93’s crash site in Pennsylvania, leaving an array of personal tributes, including a Vietnam veteran’s Purple Heart and a child’s note that said, “Now I understand why my dad’s at war.”

Today, even as threats of an anniversary attack loom, thousands will attend a special dedication in New York City. Professional football players across the NFL will wear special equipment to honor America (the NFL granted players a rare exception to its apparel policies), as will professional baseball players, and cities and states across the nation are preparing their own ceremonies. On a smaller, but just as significant scale, we can be certain that families around the country will take this opportunity to come together and express how important family is, particularly when so many families were torn apart just ten short years ago. In short, the tenth anniversary of the attacks brings with it an array of scattered and intertwined means toward remembrance, just as diverse as the people themselves who remember the tragedy.

I’m sure most of us recall exactly where we were and what we were doing on that fateful morning. While we may move on with our lives, let us never forget the moments that changed our world.

That’s all for this week. You know the drill by now.

Other articles of interest:
Video: Dynamo Minsk’s hockey funeral for Lokomotiv crash victims
Video: Coastal Carolina coach demands a locker room full of dogs
Man dressed as Gumby tries to rob store
British rapper nabs Marty McFlys–for $37,500
Office 365, Google Docs go down again, could give pause to the cloud-wary
Hotmail Disruption Sparks User Protests
Sprint Cancels Store Leave, Confirms iPhone 5 Launch Window [REPORT]
Graphic novel shows how Steve Jobs got his groove back
New Fossils May Redraw Human Ancestry
New study finds dolphins produce sounds in a similar way to humans

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

54 responses to “Discussion Post: Week 3”

  1. bmasuoka says :

    Being from Chicago and going to a few Cubs game a year I am not surprised at the food or anything there being dirty. Literally your first step you take into Wrigley field it sticks to the ground and you have to fight to lift up your foot each step. But that’s what makes Wrigley field the best ballpark in the world. I guess we are just gonna have to stick to packaged things like peanuts and a $10 beer. However, I think it would be a good idea for them to update Wrigley field and do some work inside the stadium to make things cleaner and more sanitary so people don’t have to worry about finding some black mold in there drink.

    If you have never been to Wrigley field before i highly suggest you go at least once in your life. Its a great atmosphere and a good time no matter a W or not. If the food thing and Wrigley field being really dirty affects you that much then just make sure you bring a lot of hand sanitizer and eat a lot before the game.

    Go cubs!

    • abemccullough says :

      I have spent a lot of time outside of America eating at different restaurants. Its not surprise to me that the food at Wrigley field has had some sanitation difficulties. After a while people will figure out that different cultures have different ideas of what constitutes ‘clean’. I was at a Thai restaurant in Mississippi and I caught a glimpse of a guy washing dishes squatting in the same sink he was using to wash dishes. What may have been acceptable in one culture is not always in another and the same goes for sanitation at food vendors.

  2. tsamadif says :

    So far in Presentation 1, I have enjoyed a lot of the different topics being discussed my students in my class. One thing that I have noticed a lot about the presenters is their ability to make the presentation conversational and entertaining. A lot of this is due to each of the speaker’s enthusiasm for the topic. When the speaker is interested in what they are talking about, it makes it a lot easier to enjoy.

  3. melvinallen says :

    After having the opportunity of observing the first few presentations, I did see some things that I did like and may try to incorporate in my future presentations. LIke a suspenseful introduction, by that, I mean not telling the audience the topic of your presentation rite away. I liked this because not only is it something that Steve Jobs, author of our text, does wonderfully, but also because I like the affect it has on the audience when the speaker actually builds to their introduction and overall presentation.

    With that being said, there is some cautionary things that I, personally, may not do or pay close attention to while doing, such as the overuse of note cards or outline. I may decide to do note cards but with caution simply because when I use note cards I have a tendency, in past experiences, to read directly off of them. This is definitely something I will be working on for my upcoming presentation.

    • Rebecca Ivic says :

      Melvin, you make good points on both the good and bad aspects of presenting. We will be doing some in-class activities to help us avoid over-relying on any given tool. Whether it’s staring at the monitor or note cards, as speakers, we tend to find comfort points that we keep referencing when we’re up at the front.

  4. James He (@He42) says :

    Everything from Google to ATMs have been reminding us about the moment of silence and the remembrance of 911. All of the actions taken to remind us of 911 are a necessary expense in my opinion. The remembrance is not only a way to unify our country, but it reminds our police, fireman, and all the other everyday heroes why they are working so hard to protect us every day. On the same topic of 911, I have not heard word of a successful anniversary bombing and I hope it says that way, but I will keep an eye out for any news on that.

  5. Shawn Farrington says :

    Over the past 10 years, whenever I had a doubt about why we at war, I just watch and remember footage of that horrible day. Not a time has past when I didn’t get a chill or shed a tear. I was in my sixth grade communications class when we heard the news. I watched in awe and thought about all of those poor people – trapped, alone, isolated, dying. The only regret I have about that one day is being too young to help even in the slightest. All I could do was send a care package or two with whatever money I had.
    I pray everyday for my close friends who serve in our nation’s military to keep us free and safe. The brave women and men over seas and at home deserve our fullest recognition and gratitude. If it weren’t for medical conditions, I’d be right there with them. God Bless them.

  6. rudyv12 says :

    I agree with Shawn when he writes “whenever I had a doubt about why we at war, I just watch and remember footage of that horrible day.” I remember that day of 7th grade English composition without a care in the world. I never believed something so far away could hit right at home. The thought that I was in NY with family and friends a month before caused several horrible thoughts racing through my mind. What if i was there during that time? Would I be alive today? The teacher rolled a TV in the classroom and we watched in awe. Fear began to spread through fellow students and parents. Parents were pulling their kids out of school with the fear of further attacks. The media began to mention Houston as a potential attack location because of its refineries and ports. It was definitely a time in which everyone was affected in one way or another.

  7. mporter7 says :

    The poor food rating of Wrigley Stadium doesn’t come as much of a surprise to me. Having working in the food service industry, I know that many times sanitation is far from the formost thoughts of the employees. I think a lot of this comes from a general sense of apathy. Many people who work these types of jobs are not particularly well paid but that is no excuse for such poor performance. I think that people should take pride in their work no matter what it may be. Putting your customer’s health at risk on account of being too lazy to perform the proper sanitation requirements is despicable. Of course nobody is perfect and not everything is going to be 100% up to code 100% of the time but scoring an F is just out of line.

  8. weissapurdue says :

    I want to take a moment to thank all of the heroes of 9/11. As we reflect on one of the most tragic days in our history being it the 10-year anniversary, I was thinking about how the day’s events unfolded. At the time, I was only in the 6th grade, but was certainly mature enough to comprehend the magnitude of the tragedies. i remember that day clearly, like many of us; glued to the tv, trying to figure out the whys and what-ifs. Now, 10 years later, it is still a tough moment to swallow as the memorial services and name-reading ceremonies are played back on tv.

  9. jamoliah says :

    When I think about the 9/11 bombings I have a hard time swallowing what happened. Thinking about all the people that suffered or died because of those events just leaves an empty pit in my stomach. But, light has a habit of shining all the brighter when its surrounded by darkness. Because of that, what I remember most are the heroes that stood strong on 9/11 and the days that followed. Not the politicians, but the firemen, the policemen, and the average suburbanites who together stood taller and stronger than any building ever could. I like to remember these shining displays of humanities goodness because they are truly miracles in this modern age.

  10. fiddlestix22 says :

    It is hard to imagine it’s been 10 years ago since that tragic day. We all remember where we were when it happened; and the shock, confusion, and sadness that followed. Let us not forget that, but also remember the heroism of that day and the love for country and love for each other that arose from the tragedy. We saw the worst in people that day, but it also brought out the best, and that is what we honor today.

  11. Colin Patterson says :

    I was very impressed with the introductions of the presentations. A lot of them were very unique and got my attention very quickly. There were also quite a few of different approaches into transitions. Certain things were compared that would have never crossed my mind. They made me think and really pay attention to what they were talking about.

    On the other hand, other presentations seemed to drag on in some parts. It seemed as though the people presenting didn’t want to be there and weren’t passionate about what they were talking about. If you don’t want to talk about something in a presentation, then why should I listen?

    • cengland42 says :

      The level of enthusiasm given throughout the presentations was certainly something worth noting. Even for such a small presentation, people were able to demonstrate their expertise effectively and make the topics interesting through their level of enthusiasm. It was an excellent way to break the ice for the rest of the semester and glean some strategies from other students. I appreciated that so many people broke their information down into easy to understand chunks without confusing terms. If there was one thing I could change I would probably include a short question and answer segment.

    • abemccullough says :

      Having seen all of the presentations at this point I can say that I enjoyed these a lot more than COM114. People are actually involved in activities, groups, clubs and their majors. Students have more knowledge and are actually able to give a meaningful 3 minute presentation instead of just talking for 3 minutes.

      Mostly I saw that people needed to use their note cards less. A speech as short as this hardly needs notes at all if you are using a visual aid. The visual aid acts as a cue for your mind as well as it does a tool for the presentation. I think the majority of presentations in my class could have been done with out note cards. I understand that note cards are useful in that they provide an element of safety – you don’t have to worry about forgetting what you are going to say next because its a bullet point on your note card.

  12. falkhali says :

    I thought Presentation I went great! I prepared well in advance and practiced a lot the night before. My class was a fantastic audience and they listened to everything I had to say and gave me their full attention. As for the moon landing artifacts, it would be kind of sad to have the flag and the footprints disappear over time. They are symbols of what the human race has achieved over the past few decades and remind us that anything is possible. In addition, the out of control NASA satellite that may crash on Earth at an unknown location is kind of frightening. Hopefully it doesn’t land in any populated cities or towns and instead just a large body of water, after all water does cover 70% of Earth.

  13. Emma says :

    The suprise food inspection at Wrigley is disgusting! A friend and I just went to a game about a month ago and I definitely regret eating some of their food. I’m surprised that large facilities with small vendors don’t get inspected more often. Those statistics will probably affect their food business until they’re able to raise their ‘F’ grades and gain back the trust from their customers.

  14. jordanthielker12345 says :

    I can’ believe that Wrigley Field is that bad on food content. For as much as customers pay either for tickets or food then the quality should be there. Even the stations that got graded with an “F” should shutdown or be publicly humiliated. I just feel like there’s a lawsuit somewhere in there when conducting business with sub-par conditions keeping public health and safety in mind. If those statistics continue then I vote for a motion to let customers bring in their own food. I’m a pool operator and it’s my job to keep the pool clean by using a specific amount of chlorine based on the number of people and the amount of sun. If the pool is not clean then it gets closed until the levels of bacteria are managed. If I fail to do this then the Health Inspector can revoke my operating license or I can get fired and held accountable for negligence. The food stations should be held accountable too.

  15. jmbalser says :

    I have actually been a number of Chicago Cubs games as well as a huge number of professional sporting events. I am not surprised by the grades they received for their food at all. I believe that they are willing to do anything and everything to sell as much food as they can, as fast as they can. They do this to impact their profit in a positive way, leaving their food and reputation behind. I have also been to other venues that hold concerts or other kind of performances that choose to go the same route. I do not believe that baseball stadiums are the only blame or the only venues doing using this unacceptable behavior.

  16. begardner says :

    Having been a day removed from the 10th anniversary of the tragedy that was 9/11, it was both wonderful and terrible at the same time. Wonderful for the fact that despite all of our differences, this country comes together when it matters most. Terrible for the fact that we have this anniversary to mark in the first place. Having been involved in emergency services for almost three years now as a volunteer firefighter and EMT, I have the utmost respect for my friends (and of course the many who I don’t and never will know) who have devoted their lives to the fire service. It is a dangerous career choice, one that becomes apparent every year with line of duty deaths. 343 first responders lost their lives on 9/11 and not one of them would have regretted their decision to respond that day. God bless our first responders and God bless America!

  17. Chelsea Berryman says :

    I just went to a White Sox game recently and to hear about the food situation at Wrigley…make you think twice about buying a hot dog and nachos during your game. I can see where this same incident could happen all over the country with not only baseball parks, but other sporting events. I know a lot of facilities are not very clean in the first place, in regards to seats, bathrooms, stands. They do need to step up their game on their grade and quality of food. I know the Yankee stadium has implemented great food and quality experience in their park, though the prices are much higher, it may be worth it for other parks to start following the Yankee Stadium behavior. Maybe they will start to win a few games too. 😉

  18. kaileenkraemer says :

    Undeniably, the most eye-catching article at the bottom of this post is “Man dressed as Gumby tries to rob store.” After simply reading the article, I don’t think it was a serious armed robbery, but whoever was running the store probably should have reported it before the store manager did later that morning. It is always better to over-report than under-report, and I’m sure Gumby-man was breaking some sort of law while playing that prank. As comical as it is to dress up like a classic cartoon character and pretend to rob stores, it is not funny enough to justify doing it. The man who did it is obviously pretty crazy and probably depressed if he wants to take an innocent children’s icon and make it a symbol of crime. Hopefully they track him down so he can get some help.

    Regarding the first paragraph of the post, I did my presentation last Thursday, and I’m glad I did because I now know especially what I need to work on for future presentations in this class. While preparing, I ended up getting into a rut similar to the dull-er flavor of COM 114 presentations, and next time I would like to turn the knob a few full circles to apply what we’ve learned about Steve Job’s presentations. Either way, I loved talking about my topic and am glad that we get to choose our topics more freely in this class than in COM 114.

  19. dparkerr says :

    I too am not surprised at the food conditions in Wrigley. I feel that most of the time when it is time to close up the food stands, many service works are just too tired and don’t want to go through the motions of sanitizing and making sure everything is in working order. This has opened my eyes and I will think twice when ordering food from a food vendor. I have also worked in the food industry and I have seen what happens to food before the customer even receives it, a lot of the times the disconnect between the food provider and customer is huge. I think this is a smart move by the FDA to check food during the games, because that is when the customers are going to be there. This makes the food vendors take more pride in their offerings.

  20. bcozza says :

    Amid all of the political wrangling, economic uncertainty, and stresses of daily life, the tenth anniversary of September 11, 2001, gave us due pause to reflect on a moment when all of us – Democrats and Republicans, rich and poor, Christians and Muslims – united beneath the red, white, and blue. While the tragedy and suffering endured by our fellow Americans on that September day was incomprehensible and unforgettable, the patriotic unity demonstrated rivals the immense patriotism displayed in the wake of such past national tragedies as the attack on Pearl Harbor. In my short twenty-one years as an American, never has proclaiming “I am an American” been as powerful and meaningful to me as it was on September 11, 2001, and the days that followed. While we paused to reflect on the unimaginable losses of that day upon its tenth anniversary, I hope that we will never forget the patriotic pride that united us that day and enabled the United States of America to endure.

  21. gregalles says :

    I feel like all sporting venues should be monitored much more closely than they are currently. Even here at Purdue I have seen things at our stadium that have disgusted me. At the first football game this year, one of my friends brought her own water bottle into the stadium and filled it up at one of the water fountains. The problem was fully noticed when our other friend showed up to the game late, and asked her where she had gotten lemonade at. There was no lemonade, the water was simply tainted a yellow color, and raised questions on whether or not the water was even drinkable. These types of things should not be overlooked at all, as there are thousands and thousands of people affected by these venues daily.

  22. rachkennedy says :

    The food safety violations at Wrigley don’t surprise me. Growing up near Chicago i’ve been a Cubs fan my entire life and have attended many Cubs games. Wrigley Field is definitely not the cleanest MLB ballpark i’ve been to. I tend to avoid buying food at sporting events due to ridiculous prices, but now I will for sure eat elsewhere.

    When I gave my presentation last Thursday, I was shocked how fast four minutes went. I am a pretty fast talker so I prepared myself with more material than I needed thinking I would just barely hit three minutes. Once I saw the green card go up I was really surprised since I wasn’t close to finishing. The yellow then red cards went up even quicker and I had to adapt quickly and cut out some information and make sure what I omitted didn’t alter my conclusion. I feel that I will be much better prepared for future presentations and know how to adapt when that green card comes up.

  23. aheeb says :

    Walking into a ball park, football stadium, basketball arena, etc., it should be expected that the sanitation is not the best. There are a lot of people munching on a lot of different foods. However, I fully support the decision to inspect during game-day. I hope this will be a wake-up call to other stadiums across the US, so that the food is at least safe to consume, because I know when I go to ball games, I like to not get food poisoning.

  24. mfbecks says :

    I thought that most of the special events that transpired this weekend were a great reminder of the strength and unity of this nation. I watched the ceremonies held before the NFL game of the Bears and Falcons as well as the touching display at Citi Field where the Cubs were playing the Mets. It showed that we never let the terrorists tear us down, but rather made us stronger. I thought that the stories shared by players from2001 and those who play now were very heartfelt accounts from that day and the days that followed. I found the story of how the baseball players traded their hats to NYC firefighters and police officers to be very interesting. The players didn’t expect to get the first responders hats in return but they were honored to wear them in return. I also enjoyed the re-airing of the Budweiser commercial that aired only once during the superbowl in 2002 after 9/11. The commercial showed a team of the famous Clydesdales bowing towards lower Manhattan.

  25. brad5627 says :

    As horrible of a day as 9-11 was, the silver lining of the storm clouds was definitely how the american people all banded together in a time of crisis and chaos… No matter where someone came from, regardless of their social status, race, etc, we all unified. Everyone saw past differences and a deeper belonging to the USA developed. We all stood together as a country… as one unit instead of as 300 million people. I think it was because we were all scared. It was easy because everyone could relate to the attacks… Everyone could imagine, “That could’ve been me… I’ve flown out of Boston on the 7:45 flight” or “i know someone that lives near there.” It was very easy to place your life and loved ones in one of those airplane seats and we all valued how precious life truly is. We comforted people because we were able to empathize with them…
    No one will ever forget where they were that day because… it could have been anyone on those planes and in those buildings… and because our country had been attacked on our own soil…. No one will ever forget… It was the start of a different era in the world… everything changed.

  26. Jake Gebuhr says :

    I decided to go ahead and write my post today, as I just finished my first presentation. As far as that goes, I was pretty happy with the way it went. I like my visual aid and believe that it helped out quite a bit. Also, I possessed a notecard but only used it for about 30 seconds, just to get started, and then seemed to remember the rest of my speech. One issue I had was length – I think I went over 4 minutes, maybe by a whole minute extra. When practicing the presentation, it ran 5 minutes, so unfortunately I attempted to keep it within the time limits by speaking faster and excluding my ending story. This however has taught me to practice and time it before even submitting the outline next time and make sure it will fit in time limits.

    September 11th is very important to my life, as I am hoping to become an airline pilot. Some of the security measures put in place after the attacks will create some issues for all of us in this field, but they are necessary. I am not however a fan of the full-body scanners, but after declining to go through one last summer I learned a lesson. They patted me down, pulled everything out of my backpack, and made me repack all of it. After that, my privacy concerns were no longer worth it. What we need are infrared cameras instead, as they can easily sense and show anything hidden under someone’s clothing without infringing on their privacy.

  27. jykim315 says :

    One of the most interesting topic for this week’s post is ‘NASA satellite is expected to plummet to Earth over the next few weeks.’

    As a kid, I always wanted to pick up a part of satellite or rock falling from the space. At that time, I did not know those debris can significantly damage properties or harm a human life. I hope there is no damage done by the satellite debris strike.

    The topic reminded me recent news about space debris. Over 50 years of space exploration, there have been increasing number of space debris or space junk. Those debris can effectively disable not only satellite but also vital life support units in the International Space Station. Although ISS (space station) has layers of protection for the space debris, this can threat the most valuable asset for human history.

    Recently, China destroyed a satellite using ballistic missile for their space defense system testing. The test produced significant amount of space debris. Some experts with drastic view say that we will eventually lose all satellite communication and GPS capability due to the damages from space debris. NASA is our only hope, but NASA is underfunded. I hope the experts with drastic views are wrong. I don’t just want go back to stone age without satellites.

    For reference, check http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/44359102/ns/technology_and_science-space/

  28. Derek Stewart says :

    I think it’d be cool if NASA’s satellite landed right in my backyard! Could you imagine one day waking up and seeing a satellite outside your house; I’d probably sell it and use the money to fix the food crises at Wrigley field. That’s terrible for all those people who ate the food there! I’ve never even heard of “black slime”…really? Maybe I will present on this topic for my next presentation! In all seriousness, first round presentations went really well! I thought everyone utilized the time wisely, given we only had three to four minutes.

  29. Chris Reed says :

    I mostly read the story about wrigley field. Ive been there many a times and never had had a problem, or felt disgusting. Lets be honest, its a stadium/sports venee… its going to be nasty when you are feeding or serving 10’s of thousands of people. Then again I played baseball and play paintball and i go from the field to eat all the time. No washing of hands or anything. Grow up… if your arent getting sick from it and its just greasy ballpark food that youre complaining about… bring your own food.

  30. vsabatel says :

    After completing all the speeches for the first presentation, it is easier to make assumptions and reflect on as a whole. Overall I thought the presentations were great. I felt as if everyone took into consideration all the aspects that make a good presentation that we talked about in class. I think that the Steve Jobs book really helps as a reference guide on remembering what the most important aspects are in a good presentation. As for myself, I thought I did alright. I would probably put myself right in the middle of the class average as for as quality of presentation. I’m glad the first presentation is done with because now the rest will be easier to adjust to, nothing will come as a surprise, no more first time. I definitely plan on improving my presentation and I don’t think the presentation I gave was an adequate measure of what I am capable of doing. But I am satisfied with the presentation I gave and was very pleased with all the other presentations this first time around.

  31. khabenic says :

    After viewing all three days of presentations, I feel they went over considerably well. The majority of the topics covered in my class were relevant to us as college students, and those that weren’t relevant were still very interesting. In general, everyone seemed to deliver their topics well and seemed very prepared, even though the length of the speeches weren’t that long.

    I found that a lot of my classmates, myself included, need to work on our movement and gestures. It’s hard once you’re actually up there, at least it is for me, to remember not to stand in one place the whole time and when you do move to try and make it look natural. I think some people struggled with movement because their slides required that they stay fairly close to the computer at all times.

    On the other hand, there were other things that I really enjoyed about these presentations. The people who chose to use slides during their presentations made great use of them. I particularly like how several of my classmates had pictures or information on one slide and a blank slide right after that. It gave us in the audience time to focus on the pictures and information when the presenter wanted us to and when he or she was ready for to focus more on their speech a blank slide was brought up so we would no longer be distracted. Great technique! In fact I may have to use it in my next presentation. 🙂

  32. moormanja says :

    Whenever I first heard about the concession stands at Wrigley field I honestly wasn’t that surprised. I have been to many ballparks and most of them really aren’t that clean. All i ever see when I go places is everything just being heated up in some way with like 8 or 9 people walking around with no gloves on not having a clue what they touched before yours. I’ve learned in my many years of going to the ballpark is to eat before or after you go to the game because you don’t have to deal with the concession stands. Also after hearing about this I do not plan on ever getting a fountain drink again from the concessions. Since I heard that my mind has been wondering trying to figure out how long those cups have just been sitting there collecting dust and whatever else might have been spilled on it. I recommend buying a bottle now

  33. spkuo says :

    Presentation I is over now, well technically, the last day was yesterday. I presented on Tuesday and I remembered noting to myself after watching people who presented on Thursday of last week to at least slightly move around the room instead of planting myself in one spot during the whole presentation. However, I still ended up mostly planting myself in one spot so that didn’t really work out. I think nerves got the best of me. It’s easy to think but not do. Some things I made sure to avoid after watching the first presenters was to not constantly look at my note cards all the time, not shake or stutter during my presentation, and to sound passionate about what I’m presenting on. I also made sure to at least look around the room instead of only focusing on one person or the wall. I had even originally thought the video camera would make me even more nervous, but when I was presenting, I ended up not even noticing it, which I find rather funny. Anyways, overall, I thought all the presentations went well.

  34. lwinters26 says :

    As a student in food science the subject of food inspections comes up a lot in my classes. A good thing to know, processing plants are staffed and checked by highly educated people and constantly sanitized and inspected. So this food is usually as close to safe as it can be. It is when the food is in retail that it is much harder to follow. I think the biggest hurdle to get over to help prevent these conditions is to educate the personnel working these stands. So many of them dont know about Listeria and Staphylococcus among all the others and how prevalent they are and how to prevent them. So many deli’s in grocery stores could be contaminated by Listeria because so many of them dont have any idea why they are supposed to properly clean the meat slicers every 4 hours, so they may not strictly follow these guidelines. Education could help solve so many problems.

  35. han39 says :

    9/11 changed whole world, airports got more secured and life for people from mid-eastern area in any other countries often considered as a potential terrorist. Also the America goes Iraq war, and many people sacrifice their life for the country. Those terrorist attacks only caused their own life suffer. There is much more peaceful way to tell their opinion instead of killing and bombing innocent people. We all need to remember this tragic event, even I was very shocked when I saw that news from my home country. Whole world was in shock, and everyone shared the sad and anger. That kind of terrorism should be extinct.

  36. lopurdue says :

    I would like to talk about the presentations in class. I had to say that they were by far the best presentations I have seen from all classes at Purdue. Everybody really did a good job on the “to-do”s and “not-to-do”s. Since people were talking about things they are interested, everyone showed his or her enthusiasm. I had learned a lot from classmates because these presentations were not dry. Previous ones that I’ve seen were too informative, which make me not being able to absorb that much information at once.
    I think everyone has to practice presenting more times before presenting especially me. I was really nervous when I presented. I kept looking at the computer screen and my notecards but in fact, I did not read anything directly off my notecards. I hope I can do better in next presentation.

  37. Teju Shyamsundar says :

    Just like everyone else, I am also not very surprised about the poor ratings of Wrigley Stadium food. It makes sense that the quality of this food is not very high, or even acceptable, because of the number of people that buy food during these games. Food vendors do not focus on the quality of food, but rather the amount of food that they can sell during a game. Because the food at Wrigley is mass produced, the quality is not going to be very high. With so many people in one area, it is not very surprising that the food quality is low. Regardless of the amount of people who come to the game and buy food, the quality of food needs to increase. Service is just as important as profit, and the food vendors at Wrigley need to realize this.

  38. davidjames1187 says :

    Although I consider myself a Canadian in most aspects, (sarcasm) I still hold what happened on 9/11 very strongly. There are many things that happened on 9/11 from the tragedy to the reaction that I have many opinions on. From the awesome way we came together as a country and how we remembered that we were AMERICAN and how we showed our countries pride, to the way we treated everyone as a terrorist which was absolutely horrible. I guess when reappraising the situation, we as a country just didn’t know how to react to that attack, we live in a great country but we also live in a bubble that hides reality. We did do a lot of good things, but we also jumped to conclusions on a lot of issues. I would like to think our reaction was purely defending the weak and hurt, but it’s unfortunate that there was a lot of political agenda that was overlooked and accepted by Americans. If only the people in this Country had any insight on the conditions involved in war, maybe they wouldn’t have thought it was so awesome to react the way we did. WAR is not cool, not in any aspect, and definitely not when the purpose of the war gets lost, which it most definitely did. I am not a huge fan of the military, although I do respect the individuals that put themselves on the line to stand up and defend every American, even those who simply don’t deserve it. But as a christian, I just hope that if this situation ever occurs again, that we react more wisely. Because WAR is not cool, but defending the weak, hurt, and our christian beliefs is very cool, and I hope that everyone in this country and military remember that as a true reason to defend.

    • davidjames1187 says :

      Oh, and the Chicago Cubs SUCK! So hearing about their pitiful sanitary issues doesn’t surprise me. But despite the fact that the team fails in every aspect, fans will still continue to put themselves through the suffering every single game. Oh to be a Cubs fan.

  39. zjaw3150 says :

    Regarding space, I think it’s mildly depressing to imagine the American flag worn out like that; of course it’s obvious there won’t be anyone who can change it out anytime soon. jykim315’s comment about space debris was a good point: if NASA should be working on anything, it should be future plans to keep space habitable for satellites and humans alike.

    Wringley Field? I think the moral of that story is to eat and hydrate as much as possible before walking into any sporting event. It saves you money and a trip to the doctor.

  40. bkershey says :

    The September 11th attacks serve as reminder of numerous things for our country. During our current struggles, economical and political, looking back at the footage of that day and the days after and how we all came together to help and do our part. It is a shame it takes something to tragic to unite a country and that it just cant be like that all the time. But as others have posted, whenever you see news about the war and people questioning why we are fighting the war on terror, a simple look back to that day and the surreal feeling we all had even at a young age, those figthing for our country truly are a representation of our citizens.

  41. thecatherinesondgerath says :

    I think we are safe from being hit with space junk. Nobody has been hit before. It may weigh several tons but I’m sure it won’t weigh more than a few hundred pounds when/if it does hit earth. I also doubt that it will make it through the atmosphere in one piece. This is another example of how pollution is getting worse. Not only are we polluting our planet but we are now polluting space?

  42. Merry Hetzer says :

    After watching some of my classmates do presentations, I learned a lot and made mental notes. On my presentation day, I tried to use these pointers to better my own speech. Some issues that I needed to work on were; annunciation, eye contact, made sure I talked loud enough, paced myself, and used appropriate visuals. I liked the presentations I saw in class. Each one was unique and interesting. I actually learned a few new things that were helpful. Im interested to see what my class will talk about next time.

  43. jkinnamo says :

    Regarding the Wrigley field sanitary food inspection, i think that this is old news and some what irrelevant. The food sanitary inspections at all parks and stadiums is generally sub-par. I remember hearing last year on tv while watching the MLB playoffs the announcers were talking about how around 20 of the 30 ball parks had failed in at least some aspect of the inspection. Fans all know that the food made in ball parks are not the most sanitary and the release of this health inspection i feel is some what irrelevant, especially with a ball park like Wrigley. Wrigley field has had one of the highest attendance ratings over all of the MLB, with them having sold out crowds nearly every home game. The release of this health inspection will not change any of those numbers at all and the fans will keep coming. Wrigley field may get some health inspection fines clean up for a few weeks, but then they will be right back at their old typical unsanitary conditions. When going to a ball game, fans will generally ignore the better judgement of not getting this unsanitary food and allow these stadiums to keep getting away with the unsanitary food stands.

  44. greene4 says :

    Since I am a Sprint customer, I have a bittersweet feeling about this iPhone 5 coming to the company. Either the phone will do exceptionally well and Sprint won’t focus on there Android phones as hard or the phone will not be as great as people make iPhone’s seem. Being a current Android user, I find my phone rather amazing. The iPhone 5 will be in competition with the latest hot Android phone from Sprint the Evo 3D. Seeing as though I have yet to use my upgrade, I will be waiting at least a couple weeks for the iPhone because I don’t want the malfunctions that come with it. I’m really torn between the two phones, but for right now I will be patient because I don’t want to make the wrong move. Then again “If you don’t have an iPhone, well you just don’t have an iPhone.” I need the opportunity to have an iPhone to see the perks of it for myself. My boy friend currently has the Evo 3D and I can say it does everything the iPhone 4 does and more. The new iPhone always gets better so that makes this a real challenging investment. In the end, it was a great contract for Sprint because they have plenty of customers like myself that are anticipating this phone.

  45. vmgray says :

    I am very excited that Sprint maybe getting the iPhone 5. I really like iPhones because they have some unbelievable battery life compared to androids. However, I feel this will cause some of the other cellular phone companies some problems. Sprint has the best plan, and really good service. I believe that they just may kick AT&T out of the competition. With this phone, sprint will lead the cellular phone industry. I may get the iPhone, but like others I enjoy my android despite the battery problem. Another reason that I am uncertain about the iphone 5 is because I have an iPad which is kind of a big iPhone.

  46. bmonroe16 says :

    It seems pretty convenient that the flag just “disappeared.” There was already enough suspicion that the walk on the moon never even took place, and now it seems like they are going to slowly phase out the evidence that it happened. On another note, the thought of that satellite just falling out of the sky on a random place is a pretty scary thought. It could hit here at Purdue, possibly on Bearing while we’re having class!

  47. Mike Tuccori says :

    Looking back at all the presentations, the main thing that I liked and I thought most of the people did well was their use visual representations. Specifically, I liked the way the visual representations navigated the content. In addition, they were pleasing to look at and were not too distracting to the point of confusion on key topics. Overall, I would say that these were the best set of consecutive presentations I have seen. That being said, this sets only competition is COM 114 sets; albeit, these presentations hit COM 114 out sets out of the ballpark. Speaking of ballparks and their recent disclosure unsanitary acts, ballpark food has forever been tainted in my mind and I will always be speculative. It would have almost have been better if I hadn’t read that. No going back now. In fairness, nobody appreciates the surprise visit from an inspector of any sort. Still, there is no excuse for ratings in unsanitariness that low. It is quite obvious that with ratings so low, they can only go up. On the subject of going up, satellites plus low-flying planes have no business colliding with the world and injuring the good people. Events like these are very difficult to plan for, and pose a threat to all. I can only hope for the day that events and tragedies like these become extinct due to civil action and effective planning–PEACE.

  48. tgoe1 says :

    Overall, I’m happy with my presentation 1. The layed back atmostphere of the class really helped to comfortably present my topic. I will be interested to see myself giving a presentation on camera, as I’ve never seen myself taped giving a speech. I think it will give me a new perspective on my presentation technique, and since most of my critizism was on my posture, i’ll be interested to see what I actually looked like. I’d also like to work on relating to my audience since some people thought that I was interacting too much with a specific group of people and leaving others out.

  49. moore2112 says :

    On the topic of the satellite falling out of the sky, it’s not very likely that it will hit anything important. After burning up in the atmosphere, I’m sure that whatever is left of it will land in the ocean or some body of water. Spending millions or billions of dollars to take it down safely doesn’t sound very cost effective.

Leave a Reply

